As Ghostly's record output has become more cerebral, its complementary dancefloor-based label Spectral Sound has become its own entity, a fact well reflected by the sheer breadth and quality of the tracks collected for Spectral Sound Vol. 1. The 13 tracks from disc one cover the whole of the label's existence, from progenitors like Osborne to newcomers such as Peter Grummich, with all tracks appearing on CD for the first time.Spectral began in 2000 as an outlet for DJ singles and EPs from then-unknowns like Matthew Dear, and has grown to include 21 such releases, plus 3 highly lauded albums. Dear's hit "Dog Days" appears here along with the previously unreleased "Juice", a shimmering, staccato take on the sound he explored on the phenomenal Leave Luck to Heaven album. James T. Cotton's "T-Y-O-C Painkillers" offers a jacking beat and ominous buildup drenched in his signature analog sound. Other recent tracks from Geoff White and The Vanisher (AKA Hakan Lidbo) are included, plus remix work from Reinhard Voigt and Isolee, making for an utterly essential collection of sleek tech-house, gorgeous minimal techno, and outright jams. The CD version contains a 33-track mix by Matthew Dear's DJ partner Ryan Elliott. The LP version contains all the exclusives, plus the vinyl-only Jeff Samuel track "Factoid".

Spectral Sound Vol. 1

Various Artists

  • Share this:

  • Pinterest
CD $15.00 Add to Cart
MP3 Album $12.99 Add to Cart

All MP3 Downloads encoded at 320 kbps unless otherwise specified.

Track List
Osborne – Bout Ready To Jak [SPC-4] $1.99 Buy WAV
The Vanisher – The Tic-Tac-Tactic [SPC-22] $1.99 Buy WAV
Matthew Dear – It's Over Now (Peter Grummich RMX) [Exclusive] $1.99 Buy WAV
Geoff White – Nintendisco [SPC-19] $1.99 Buy WAV
James T. Cotton – Buck! (Reinhard Voigt RMX) [SPC-9] $1.99 Buy WAV
Hieroglyphic Being – Je Suis Musique [Exclusive] $1.99 Buy WAV
Matthew Dear – Juice [Exclusive] $1.99 Buy WAV
Jeff Samuel – Heb. Gbz [SPC-23] $1.99 Buy WAV
Audion – Raw Dog [Exclusive] $1.99 Buy WAV
James T. Cotton – T.Y.O.C. Painkillers [Exclusive] $1.99 Buy WAV
Osborne – Daylight (Isolee RMX) [SPC-8] $1.99 Buy WAV
Matthew Dear – Dog Days [Radio edit, Exclusive] $1.99 Buy WAV
Ryan Elliott – Spectral 25 Megamix $1.99 Buy WAV

Continue Shopping

Find more Music or additional items by Various Artists.

Join our newsletter

Be the first to know about pre-orders, limited editions, and the latest additions to The Ghostly Store.