In the three years that have passed since the release of Ghostly's Idol Tryouts compilation, Ghostly and its brother label Spectral Sound have branched out beyond their roots in Ann Arbor under the guidance of Sam Valenti IV, who has built a shamelessly diverse roster of artists from around the globe. Idol Tryouts Two is an expansive document of this maturation, offering a plentitude of exclusive material separated into two discs distinguished as Avant-Pop and SMM.Avant-Pop denotes a distinct brand of off-center pop treasures – it follows no formula, but you know it when you hear it. On this disc, exclusive tracks from Skeletons & The Girl-Faced Boys, Mobius Band, and the rest of the Ghostly roster document the crossroads where the avant-garde and the popular converge. Matthew Dear and Dabrye also appear, foreshadowing their respective sophomore LPs and the label's stylistic movement into the future.SMM is a mysterious acronym (Sensual Machine Music? Stately Modern Melodies?) that encompasses music of a more enigmatic nature, with an emphasis on textural and melodic nuance. This collection follows in the tradition of Ghostly releases by Twine, Aeroc, Lusine, and Kiln, with friends of the label such as Loscil (Kranky), Richard Devine (Warp) and Terre Thaemlitz (Mille Plateaux) contributing exclusive tracks.Adorned by the iconic BoyCatBird mascots of rogue Detroit designer Michael Segal, Idol Tryouts Two comes in deluxe digipack/gatefold packaging with label discography, artist photos and bios, and liner notes from Andrew Parks (Devil in the Woods magazine). Each format contains exclusive tracks. This collection is Ghostly's most fully realized statement yet, a split-brain affair, over two years in the making, that offers a full spectrum of artists who show us the beauty of the machine, inside and out.

Idol Tryouts Two: Ghostly International Vol. 2

Various Artists

  • Share this:

  • Pinterest
3xLP + MP3 Download $17.00 Sold Out
CD + MP3 Download $8.00 Add to Cart
MP3 Download $12.00 Add to Cart

All MP3 Downloads encoded at 320 kbps unless otherwise specified.

Track List
Matthew Dear - Send You Back $0.99 Buy MP3
Solvent - An Introduction to Ghosts [Extended Vinyl/Digital Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3
Outputmessage - Sommeil $0.99 Buy MP3
Skeletons & The Girl-Faced Boys - Fit Black Man $0.99 Buy MP3
Kill Memory Crash - Press + Burn $0.99 Buy MP3
Dabrye - Magic Says [CD Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3
Mobius Band - Electronic Piano $0.99 Buy MP3
Daniel Wang - Berlin Sunrise [Original CD Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3
Charles Manier - Bang Bang Lover [Original] $0.99 Buy MP3
Benoit Pioulard - The Depths & The Seashore $0.99 Buy MP3
Solvent - Spin Cycle [CD Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3
Lawrence - Wasting a Fall [Edit CD Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3
Mobius Band - The Loving Sounds of Static (Junior Boys Remix) $0.99 Buy MP3
Manhunter - North Pole [Vinyl Exclusive]
Dykehouse - I Want To Give To You What I've Got To Put Into Yo [Digital Exclusive $0.99 Buy MP3
Loscil - Umbra $0.99 Buy MP3
Deru - Straight Speak $0.99 Buy MP3
Sybarite - Sanctuary $0.99 Buy MP3
Cepia - Ramp [CD Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3
Cepia - Hoarse $0.99 Buy MP3
Kiln - Isthmus [CD Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3
Greg Davis - Amaranthine $0.99 Buy MP3
Lusine + David Wingo - Locks $0.99 Buy MP3
Aeroc - A Little Something $0.99 Buy MP3
Christopher Willits - Colors Shifting $0.99 Buy MP3
Terre's Neu Wuss Fusion - Love on a Real Train (Risky Business) $0.99 Buy MP3
Twine - Gliding In On [Edit CD Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3
Tim Hecker - Sundown6093 [CD Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3
Richard Devine - Murman [CD Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3
Deadbeat - Hope In Numbers (edit) [Digital Exclusive] $0.99 Buy MP3

Continue Shopping

Find more Music or additional items by Various Artists.

Join our newsletter

Be the first to know about pre-orders, limited editions, and the latest additions to The Ghostly Store.