SMM: OpiateSMM: OpiateSMM: OpiateSMM: OpiateSMM: OpiateSMM: OpiateSMM: OpiateSMM: Opiate
Limited Edition Vinyl Notes:
  • Limited edition of 350 hand-numbered units 
  • Standard weight transparent vinyl w/ an opaque interior 
  • Black silkscreened jacket on high quality, Speckletone French paper; printed at Kayrock Screenprinting in Brooklyn, NY
  • Inserted into a clear, resealable record sleeve for protection
  • Design, layout, artwork by Michael Cina
  • More information on the limited edition
Standard Edition Vinyl Details: 
  • Standard weight black vinyl limited to 1,000 units
  • Vinyl is inserted into a 2-panel original art sleeve
  • 2-panel art inner sleeve printed jacket with a Reverse stock finish
  • Vinyl Includes download card
  • Design, layout, artwork by Michael Cina
SMM: Opiate is the second release in Ghostly's SMM series, which is an ongoing exploration of the evocative possibilities of sound, with a focus on classical minimalism, electronic and drone composition, film soundtracks, and fragile imaginary landscapes. Opiate is the follow-up to 2011's SMM: Context, and as with that record, it's a carefully chosen selection of music, compiled over some two years from around the world.

The record opens with Simon Scott's "Water Shadow," a luxuriant piece of beatless ambience that's like a wash of warm water or the first touch of the summer sun on your face after a long, cold winter. It's a warmth that doesn't last, though — "Ti Prego Memory Man," by A Winged Victory for the Sullen, is no less beautiful. It's a stately, alpine beauty, its chilly sounds a harbinger of things to come. Celer's "Nothing So Mystical" is more minimal still, while Black Swan's "Passing Heartbreak" brings whispers of humanity, its sound coalescing out of an atmospheric whirl of vocal textures.

The wryly titled "This Is Radio Sweden," by Jim Haynes, is all brooding background noise that's shot through with what sounds like an old-fashioned telephone engaged tone, a track that seems shot through with connotations of absence and loss. EN's "White" is both somber and somehow transportive, setting plucked chords from what sounds like a banjo over a glistening synth figure, while Pjusk's "Dorsk" slows to a sort of stasis, with only the faintest of basslines to indicate any sign of life. Fieldhead's "37th" is like a slow, mindful from such a reverie, and Noveller's "Bright Cloud Blooms" brings the cycle to a close with another brief flush of precious warmth.

As a whole, the compilation seems to follow a narrative arc, descending through a series of stages into near-complete stillness, and then slowly ascending back to where it began. As a whole, the experience is certainly evocative of the opiated sensation evoked by the record's title — but really, it's a compilation that invites you to find your own meaning in it, or simply to appreciate the beauty of its music and escape the world for a while.

SMM: Opiate

Various Artists

  • Share this:

  • Pinterest
Clear Vinyl + MP3 Download $22.00 Add to Cart
Vinyl + MP3 Download $16.00 Add to Cart
CD + MP3 Download $12.00 Add to Cart
MP3 Download $10.00 Add to Cart

All MP3 Downloads encoded at 320 kbps unless otherwise specified.

Track List
Simon Scott - Water Shadow $0.99 Buy MP3
A Winged Victory for the Sullen - Ti Prego Memory Man [Album Only]
Celer - Nothing So Mystical $0.99 Buy MP3
Black Swan - Passings, Heartbreak $0.99 Buy MP3
Jim Haynes - This is Radio Sweden $0.99 Buy MP3
EN - White $0.99 Buy MP3
Pjusk - Dorsk $0.99 Buy MP3
Fieldhead - 37th $0.99 Buy MP3
Noveller - Bright Clouds Bloom $0.99 Buy MP3

Continue Shopping

Find more Music or additional items by Various Artists.

Join our newsletter

Be the first to know about pre-orders, limited editions, and the latest additions to The Ghostly Store.