Spectral Sound, dancefloor imprint of Ghostly International, is five releases old. Spectral Five is a synopsis of the past and an ominous spectre of things to come. 4 producers, all hailing from the Ann Arbor/Detroit area are here, some of the finest in the country, and comprise the core of the label.James Cotton, aka Dabrye/Tadd Mullinix, is the raw centrifuge, tearing through I Seek with a vicious proto-industrial energy. All crap drum machines and eerie, elevating synths.Osborne, aka Todd Osborn of "Bout Ready to Jak" fame, and one of this 2003's "Next 100" in URB magazine, makes Shift his jackingest yet. Up and down grooves, slapback acid funk; a pure floor seeker.Matthew Dear, also of 2003's URB "Next 100" fame, brings polyrhyhtms to bear in Plinko. Plinko can best be described as multi-directional scatterstep beats, a recurring trademark of Dear (as heard on his Perlon release as Jabberjaw), and dangerously descending bassline stairs.Flexitone (the return of…), formerly of Planet E, is an alias of Interdimensional Transmissions' Brendan M. Gillen. Moist is drippy detroit techno, like a mysterious passage through a water-logged digital filter, dividing house and glitch in half.This is the State of the Union.

State Of The Union

Various Artists

  • Share this:

  • Pinterest
12" Vinyl $10.00 Add to Cart
MP3 Download $4.99 Add to Cart

All MP3 Downloads encoded at 320 kbps unless otherwise specified.

Track List
James T. Cotton - I Seek $1.99 Buy WAV
Osborne - Shift $1.99 Buy WAV
Matthew Dear - Plinko $1.99 Buy WAV
Flexitone - Moist $1.99 Buy WAV

Continue Shopping

Find more Music or additional items by Various Artists.

Join our newsletter

Be the first to know about pre-orders, limited editions, and the latest additions to The Ghostly Store.